Planting time!!

last year's plan

I drew this last year when I was dreaming about what I’d plant. I didn’t really wind up with exactly this, but I really like the drawing anyway. As it turns out with the chickens, I can’t really plant anything on the garden fence, because they’ll eat almost anything they can reach, and they have long necks (who knew?) and plenty of determination and time to work on it. However, chard, artichokes, strawberries and leeks are in those places just as shown, and flourishing. In fact, I just received the first 4 strawberries of the year yesterday, and there are many more to come. And oh, the leeks! They’re beautiful!

Yesterday, I planted! There where it says Corn, I did a pretty big patch of three-sisters planting: corn from seeds I dried and saved last year, cowpeas (sort of like blackeye peas), and since no one person can possibly use that many of one kind of squash…pumpkins, acorn-type table squash, and cantaloupes. All direct-seeded in the ground. I am very much looking forward to see how this goes.

The soil is rich this year, there were countless worms. Part of the three sisters patch was up until recently part of the chicken run, so there is plenty of nitrogen available to start things out right. I added some amendment when the garden space was first tilled, but I’m a believer in soil as living strata, and in building soil the slow but natural way, from the top down, so I’m pleased to see the soil maturing and deepening.

Hooray, for dirt under my fingernails!

About Real_Ale

Just walkin' the path.
This entry was posted in Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Planting time!!

  1. SuburbanPrairie says:

    So, can we have a sketch of what it turned out to be? And, maybe, dibs on corn and cantaloupe? And basil? And… ooooh… hops! I don’t know what I’d do with ’em; I just love the smell of ’em! And, let’s see… cukes and green beans. Yeah, I think that’ll do it. Kthx! πŸ™‚

  2. Real_Ale says:

    You can haz pix! And perhaps if harvest and canning goes well, something I put up. πŸ˜‰ But don’t count your kantaloops before they’re hatched grown. πŸ˜€

    • SuburbanPrairie says:

      mmmmmmm kantaloops… *wypes drulez frum mai chin* o, hao ai lubs teh kantaloops! wutcha gunna dew wif teh hops? yoo gunna broo sum beers?

      • Real_Ale says:

        Neverdid plant the hops yet. But yes, I broo beers. And I think it would be really cool to grow the hops I brew with. Also I’ve heard hops tea is quite calming, and I sure do love the smell of hops, so I’ll bet I’d like the taste too. πŸ˜€

  3. Jim Collier says:

    Suburban, I’m not sure last years garden could be mapped easily. Some of it may have folded into other dimensions. Quite yummy though, although I have felt a tad strange as of late.

  4. Jim Collier says:

    and Real Ale, You is too short to grow hops. I’s seen it on the telly. πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

