New recruits

I have good news and bad news.

The bad news, it was really quite hot here yesterday – like 105+ hot – and two of my four hens died. They had water, they had shade, but this was the hottest it’s been in their lifetime (a year and a bit) so maybe it was simply that.

The good news:
gold-laced Wyandotte chicksNew recruits! These are golden-laced Wyandottes (my others are Barred Rock), and my guess is they’re between 3 and 4 weeks old. This should be interesting, introducing young’uns in with the adult hens, but I have about a week to figure out how I’ll accomplish it.

About Real_Ale

Just walkin' the path.
This entry was posted in Critters. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New recruits

  1. Elizabeth says:

    bummer about the hens 😦

  2. Jim Collier says:

    Little bitches can fly now. I had a quite amusing round-up getting them back in the garage. >,<

Leave a Reply

